Something New – Part 3

“The challenge of the Silver Gate is to reconnect to our regenerative forces and stay connected to them. Many cultures of the world have traditional practices to accomplish this.” Angeles Arrien
I am intrigued by an Ancient European custom cited in this section that is still practiced in some areas of the world. The challenge is to do something never before tried each month. The custom is to do it on one’s birthdate, but I will play fast and loose with that.
 
* * *
Wow! February was a month of new things. None of them were earthshaking although some were so far outside my box that my husband was shaken. But I don’t know if I can even describe why this is so. Maybe you would have to know me.
Returning from Mexico early in the month spent some time in Los Angeles area to visit with my grandchildren.
1. I stayed in an Air B&B (not for the first time) that was actually just a room in a private home. (The first time) I shared the bathroom with the couple residing there as well as a Texas lawyer visiting the area for a director’s conference.
2. I accepted a ride with the Texan (who seemed a gentleman) since I had not rented a car and wanted to get to the store for some necessities. (This is the one that rattled my husband a bit.) I ended us sharing a lunch table with him at a local market, going to the store, and riding back to my room with him.
3. I used Uber for the first time – to get to the train station to ride the train to my grandson’s college. Also a first. But after having left my big Mexico suitcase in my granddaughter’s car I navigated the train there and back. I transferred, met my granddaughter at a Starbucks in Burbank, had lunch with her, and grabbed a Flyaway (another first) to the airport.
Without going into boring details – in an attempt to avoid steroids as a treatment I began an intense dive into alternative medicine. Acupuncture, not new. Energy healer, not completely new but in a couple of new guises. Homeopathy, a new direction. Massage, not new but with some new features. And whatever it was in the mix worked. I am now being encouraged by my doctor to remain off of steroids.
And for a finale….drum roll, please…I have joined a Qi Gong class once a week. Me with all of those younger people.
. . .
And so what have I learned other than flexibility from all of this?
That I prefer a private bathroom but privileged living has gradations. Having a flushing toilet is great.
That I love (and always have loved) public transportation. I enjoy the ride. I love that I’m not contributing another car to the mix.
That after due self-examination it is good to trust my intuition about my own body.
That I can find an organized exercise class that is enjoyable enough to endure scheduling and make the trip.
Can’t wait for next month!
The Student
Leave a comment

Filed under Angeles Arríen, The Challenge, The Second Half of Life, The Silver Gate

Leave a Reply

