The Silver Gate

I would love to live 

Like a river flows, 

Carried by the surprise

Of it’s own unfolding. John O’donahue

The Task: “The Silver Gate requires us to surrender our egos and begin the process of accepting the aging of the body and mind.”

The Challenge: “…is to reconnect to our regenerative forces and stay connected to them.”

The Gift: “If we commit first to living ‘like a river flows/Carried by the surprise/Of its own unfolding’, the gift of wisdom emerges and reveals itself.”

This first gate will lead me into an adventure of learning. I will open myself to the next phase of my life thinking outside the box of my existence up to now.  I am challenged by this unfolding at an age when my culture sees my life as narrowing – my time growing shorter and perhaps less important.

This is a beginning that will move me more gracefully toward my ending.

The Student

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Angeles Arríen, The Second Half of Life, The Silver Gate

Leave a Reply

