Destiny

P1000991

As your desire is, so is your will. As your will is, so is your deed. As your deed is, so is your destiny.

Brihadaranyaka Upanishad (IV.4.5)  

Ah…to think that i my destiny may be nurured in the arms of my unacknowledged desires. That I may not even be aware of what drives me toward it.

This possibility exists because desire is  powerful. It is not my everyday want or wish. It isn’t a random thought that passes through my mind, “Oh, that would be nice…”

Desires are more than that. They are the secrets of my soul that I sometimes tamp down to do what I “should”. They can be buried in my words and actions that continually repeat, “i can’t”.

So then I wonder what it takes to crack me open and let my destiny beome reality. How many layers must I peel away before the shell of my structured life is vulnerable enough to break open – until my essence spills from my clutched fists and allows me to be who I must ultimately be.

Life Student

1 Comment

Filed under Self-examination

One response to “Destiny

  1. Keep at it, friend! It’s a long slog, but as you know, the alternative is a life without your highest destiny. The superego is a slippery shape-shifter; it takes that daily work to peel the layers back.

Leave a Reply

