Learning

Buddha under the Magnolia TreeLast spring I met a man on a ship who, when we were discussing parenting, said, “If I could give my children two things, it  would be to teach them meditation and speedreading. That way they could never sleep and learn everything.”

I’ve thought about it a lot. I am a seeker of knowledge. At one time this winter I was listening to Coursera lectures on Modern Mysticism in Europe, Morality in Everyday Life , Emotional Intelligence in Leadership and the beginning of a class on Soul Beliefs. At the same time, I was trying to catch up on some old Psychology lectures from the fall.

I get what I have done to myself. I have changed my daily walks from a time of contemplation to minutes and hours filled with distraction…albeit good information. What I notice is that after years of walking without earbuds, I am a bit thrown off if I don’t have anything that entertains me. My already busy mind has taken on new dimensions.

I realize that it is my personality* to want to do it all. It is difficult for me to make priority decisions because everything is captivating. I hate missing out. F.O.M.S. (Fear of Missing Something) is my middle name.

At this time in my life my best learning is probably not from college professors. And I may not need that stack of books by my bed.  What I need is to practice what I have already learned.  I need to practice love, thoughtfulness, tolerance, compassion, empathy,

What I need is stillness. Perhaps if I learned that well, I could share it with my children.

The Student

*Couple a Gemini with an Enneagram 7 and you have a peripatetic ball of activity.

2 Comments

Filed under More Teachers, Point Seven - The Epicure, Self-examination, The Enneagram

2 responses to “Learning

  1. wow the timing of your post is so interesting because i had the same insight last night…or rather it was given to me. i’ve always enjoyed the fact that i love reading and information. but it’s true – it’s become a habitual distraction and i’m thinking i’ve glorified my active mind just a tad.

    there is an einstein quote – “reading, after a certain age, diverts the mind too much from its creative pursuits. any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking.” i do not see myself stopping reading/writing anytime soon, but i know that more comfort with inner silence is needed. the computer can be shut down more often. ; ) thanks! aleya

Leave a Reply

