Happiness = Meaning = Happiness

“… happiness, cannot be pursued; it must ensue, and it only does so as the unintended side effect of one’s personal dedication to a cause greater than oneself…” Viktor E. Frankl

This sounds like a core value and truth to me. The pursuit of happiness takes me down blind alleys of disappointment.

I have long known myself to be a purpose-driven person. I seek meaningful thought or action every day of my life. This brings me hours of what I would call contentment and mements of joy. That is happiness enough for me.

I can tell myself that my means escapism, numbing, resistance and avoidance are ways of taking me from my real life in an attempt to make myself happy. I know better, even as I am in such states.

And so I go back to my equation: meaning = happiness.

The Student

Leave a comment

Filed under Living our best life, More Teachers, Quotations

Leave a Reply

