A Story of Me

Museum CalendarThis is a story of something I have not yet named.

I’m not much into getting gifts. It isn’t that I don’t like “stuff”. But I have a lot of it and am constantly trying to winnow out what is no longer important. Gifts are a lovely blessing of the heart, and yet they tend to clutter up my life. I prefer a hug, a flower, a sweet smile, even a cookie…anything but stuff.

So I’m not enthused about the group practice of bringing random gifts to gatherings over the holidays, drawing numbers, and ending up with a gift. Rarely are they useful to me. The game is fun. I’m just not content with the outcome.

I won’t lengthen the story with the details but I received two such gifts this last month. I enjoyed a lovely bowl for a few days and then  turned over  to a friend who had coveted it but couldn’t retain it in the game of “Steal the Gift”. The other is a lovely book calendar from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Paintings of exotic birds face each weekly page. Stunning!

I’m hooked on electronics, however, so I realized that I wouldn’t use the calendar to good advantage. I tried to press it on my husband but he prepares ahead and had already chosen one for 2014.

I put the book in my car, thinking I would  happen upon someone who would enjoy it. (All the time admiring its beauty.)

This morning I have been struggling with the concept of keeping it. Because it is beautiful. Because I really like it.

So I contemplate how I could enjoy it. Would I ever go so far as to copy from my electronic calendar to a page? No, why would I when I have a phone that loads my calendar through the “cloud” with no effort on my part. I suppose I could use it as a birthday book; but I’ve done that in the past and the book sat ignored as I listened to the beep on my calendar to remember birthdays.

I could even go so far as tear out the pages with my list of activities for each day and enjoy my errands.

But isn’t that a waste?* Do I deserve to use this calendar when I don’t really need it? Isn’t here someone, somewhere who needs it and would be thrilled to own it?

Do I deserve to use it for the sheer joy of it?

This story has no conclusion.*

Life Student

*More Thoughts

1.  Perhaps the time I spend thinking about it is a more of a waste than tearing the pages from a disposable calendar.

2. It does validate my theory that possessions can be a curse instead of a blessing.

3 Comments

Filed under Living our best life

3 responses to “A Story of Me

  1. i’ll take it! hehe, i’m kidding. i love your observation that ‘perhaps the time I spend thinking about it is a more of a waste than tearing the pages from a disposable calendar’. i can relate… when i see clutter i get immediately irritable and frustrated. it immediately creates mental clutter. i don’t want to be ungracious in receiving gifts, that’s for sure. i don’t know. i don’t really have a conclusion either. only that it’s about quality over quantity.

    • Alohaleya, I don’t think there is a real conclusion. I was told yesterday…re a different question…that it is all in attitude, intent, and maintaining compassion. That resonates, doesn’t it?

      On Mon, Jan 13, 2014 at 4:58 PM, My Life Class

  2. I enjoy this thought provoking post. And I agree about gifts. I enjoy celebrating and feel there is no need for ‘things’ as I am interested in building memories – not accumulating possessions. Good for you for passing along the bowl to one who had wanted it but lost it in the game. And the calendar? May you enjoy the art, bring it along in the car as you have, and perhaps the new owner of it will present themselves to you shortly. But if not, I encourage you to enjoy its beauty – for beauty’s sake. Namaste. Gina

Leave a Reply

