Zero-Negativity – A New Goal, or a New Impossibility?

If you look at what you have in life,
You’ll always have more.
If you look at what you don’t have in life,
You’ll never have enough. ~ Oprah Winfrey ~

I am hard on myself. I didn’t realize how much until a recent injury coupled with a new class on coursera.org called, Know Thyself.

It was hard for me to miss my continual allusions to my own carelessness and mindlessness in burning myself with hot grease. Finally my husband put a stop to the verbalization of my thoughts by his comment, “That’s why they call them accidents, Love.”

It didn’t stop my thoughts.

In one of the first few lectures of my class the professor asked us to write down a list of our own traits. When I tried to think of descriptors I was constantly qualifying… Honest? Well, not always, sometimes I avoid the truth. Loving? Well, maybe some days but don’t irritate me on my bad days. Caring? Of whom? When?

I began to see the pattern of my self-criticism. And so I watched myself for the next week.

Now I know that I have more work to do than I realized. Not by becoming more honest, caring and loving, etc. But to let go of my personal goal of perfection and see myself as human. To see myself as more instead of less.

The Student

2 Comments

Filed under Oprah, You Become What You Believe

2 responses to “Zero-Negativity – A New Goal, or a New Impossibility?

  1. Well, well, well. It is good to know that I am not the only one hard on myself. And for lack of a frame of reference, I didn’t even know I was hard on myself. I thought everyone measured themselves using the same yardstick. But it is even greater to know that I am not the only one who is learning to be gentle on myself. These last few years I am slowly learning that I do not need to beat myself up mercilessly over every small little setback or mistake. Learning to align ourselves to the truth, including the truth of the worthiness of ourselves is a very good place to start, I believe.
    You are a wonderful gem to me. And I think we’re going to do great! 😀
    Hugs, Sharon

    • It’s interesting to me how this slips by me. My awareness now allows me to still that critical voice in my head and reach into my heart instead. Perhaps with practice I can change the internal dialogue to soothe myself as I would try to soothe others in the same situation. Nice to know youa re on the path with me. Our hugs can span the globe.

Leave a Reply

