Freedom to Fly

frigates in MexicoBirds make great sky-circles of their freedom.
How do they learn it?
They fall and falling,
they’re given wings.” Rumi

My spirit wants freedom.

I have lived my life with purpose and intention.  And sometimes when we make decisions in life, those decisions are irrevocable. They give form and substance to future choices, guiding us on a path beyond our wildest imaginings; sometimes joyful, sometimes sad.

Have I now paid the price? Have I redeemed my own life and made it possible to be free? Well, perhaps within the confines…

I think of my children and grandchildren and know that although I am important to them, I am no longer necessary. I have forged an immutable bond with my husband that will withstand all but betrayal.

Does this leave me free?

It is only my mind that binds me to the structure of the past.

What do I want from the future? I can’t define it.

I want less. I want more. I want nothing. I want everything.

I want joy. I have joy. I need only clear the way for it to erupt like a beautiful volcano into every color of the spectrum.

Red for the joy of passion.

Blue for the cool water and sky that surrounds me and gives me peace and contentment.

Green for the freshness of ideas and concepts that skip through my mind and thrill me with their possibilities.

Yellow for sheer happiness. For sun and smiles, daffodils and buttercups. Yellow to reflect against my chin, like a child, telling me that I am filled with boundless love.

If I set myself free to widen my circles of flight perhaps my joy will spread to those I love.

The Student

4 Comments

March 4, 2013 · 8:11 am

4 responses to “Freedom to Fly

  1. How beautifully you said that!

  2. “For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others.”
    ~ Nelson Mandela

Leave a Reply

