Self-referral

Why is it so easy for me to accept others’ assessment of me…good or bad?

Deepak Chopra defines self-referral as “The experience (…) that our internal reference point is our own spirit, and not the objects of our experience. The opposite of self-referral is object-referral. In object-referral we are always influenced by objects outside the Self, which include situations, circumstances, people, and things. In object-referral we are constantly seeking the approval of others. Our thinking and our behavior are always in anticipation of a response.”

This seems simple.  I, after all, live with me on a day-by-day basis. I may not know who I am all of the time, but I surely know who I am not.

Even still, I am struggling to see myself as worthy because I have been judged as unworthy.  I am questioning my heart because I have been told that my love isn’t pure and true. Mean and thoughtless acts have been attributed to me and so I am questioning my motives.

Before I can totally deny all allegations I must examine my feelings of joy when someone finds me wonderful.  I need to remember that I have been given credit for worthy deeds and accepted accolades.

Ultimately, I check in with my own soul.  I expand with the peace and love within and return to what is true for me.

It’s a journey.

Life Student

4 Comments

October 10, 2012 · 9:56 am

4 responses to “Self-referral

  1. rummuser

    Nothing like a bit of introspection. Yes, it is a journey with many twists and turns and without those it will be dull and monotonous.

    My best wishes that your journey be full of occasions that will generate more introspection.

  2. Just to be able to put into words your thoughts, to be able to disentangle your thoughts on this journey. Thank you for putting into words what I most often feel without knowing the language for it. The other Student. Sharon

Leave a Reply

