High(er) Society

“Surround yourself only with people who are going to take you higher.”  Oprah Winfrey

I’ve been thinking a lot about friendships.

How does my circle of friends reflect my own values? Are my relationships feeding my soul? Is my social life lifting me higher?

I recognize a yearning and I want to be aware of whether it can be satisfied from without or within.  And so I have shuffled through a list of wants and needs.

In a friend…

  • I don’t need constant attention but I want to be seen.
  • I don’t need hours of intense philosophical discussion but I want to have meaningful conversations.
  • I don’t need my friends to agree with me but a sense of shared values creates a solid foundation.
  • I would love to have spontaneous friends but realize I must then develop my own ability to be spontaneous.
  • I don’t need to hear religious or spiritual beliefs, but I want to see and feel that the lives of my friends are on a path toward truth and compassion.

What I call a higher power, another may call God, Allah or Nirvana.

What I call spirituality another may call higher conciousness.

Perhaps the answer is simply to remain open to my life’s purpose and meet other students along the way.

2 Comments

Filed under Living our best life, The energy we put into the world comes back to us

2 responses to “High(er) Society

  1. I’ve been going through a similar reflection in my own life! Relationships are so important – they’re living, breathing parts of our own selves. Thank you for sharing your thoughts – it’s good to know that I’m not alone in my contemplation. 🙂

    ~Bran at Bramblethorn

    • Life Student

      You’re so right about how important this search is. At this partiular time I seem to be flopping about more than I have in a bit. I think it is because I am examining what feeds my soul.

Leave a Reply

