Water

Zen Rocks“One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach—waiting for a gift from the sea.”
Anne Morrow Lindbergh, Gift from the Sea

The beach offers me time for self-reflection. I’m studying my feelings about water.

I love it in all of its guises.

I never tire of the pounding ocean surf or lapping waves at the lake.  A trickling creek or a rushing river create music that reaches my soul.  Even the uneven constancy of my backyard fountain is soothing to me.

Being near water is the magic for me.

Perched high above the ocean on the deck I am content.

I can sit on a rock and contemplate the shifting horizon. Or lie down on a warm log and linger between sleep and meditation.  Nature's artI can carry my camera and record nature’s art.

Or I can lie on the couch and read knowing that the ocean or river or stream is outside my window.

I will leave the sea behind and return to my garden.  And I will be happy with the small sounds of it.

Water.

4 Comments

Filed under Living our best life, Quotations

4 responses to “Water

  1. I love water too – so calming and restorative. Being close to moving water is an essential part of my world. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, I enjoyed this post!

    Bran at Bramblethorn

  2. I found a little secret beach close to where I live and I go there almost everyday to sit and meditate and contemplate the ripples and flowing seaweed. Thank you for this soft, gentle post. I was filled with contentment reading it. A friend of water too. Sharon

    • Lynda Weinhold

      Oh, how fortunate you are to live near the sea. And I take a deep breath and think of my garden and fountain. I go there most days to watch the finches and hummingbirds enjoy the water, too.

Leave a Reply

