On a Bad Day…

I am mean-spirited this morning.

It’s because my human response is to tighten like a dried prune and resist.

I forget that I have choices.  That I needn’t follow if I prefer not.  That someones else’s actions do not dictate the course of my day or my life. For that moment I don’t remember that I made the decision to be right here.  Right now.

I look inside myself and I recognize that it is my problem.  It is my co-dependency that draws me into action.  I must control to maintain order.  My attachment to outcome is a slippery slope to irritation and resentment.

“Breathe deeply,” I tell myself.

“Let go.”

“Be.”

Loving.

The Student

2 Comments

Filed under Self-examination, Step 4. Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves.

2 responses to “On a Bad Day…

  1. rummuser

    “Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom.”
    Viktor E. Frankl

Leave a Reply

