Happiness from Within

Deepak Chopra has a new “8-week Path to Happiness” online and free.  I was struck by his first lesson.

“The ancient wisdom tradition known as Vedanta teaches that being happy for a reason is just another form of misery because the reason can be taken away from us at any time.”  …

“True happiness, in contrast, is an internal state of consciousness that allows us to be happy for no reason at all. It’s the realization that our real self isn’t our possessions, accomplishments, relationships, body or mind. Who we really are transcends space, time, and cause-and-effect. ”

I find this mind-blowing.  Because it is so right.

I am filled with gratitude to be aware of great teachers.  I might come to some of these realizations, or put realizations into words.  Yet, by turning on my computer I am spoon-fed the wisdom of ages.  I can so much more quickly comprehend spiritual truths when they are put into simple modern language that I can understand.

This week I have been monitoring my happiness meter.   I notice when I have pure joy.  I am aware of my state of mind as I move through my day.  It bears watching.

Life Student

6 Comments

Filed under 8-Week Path to Happiness, Deepak Chopra

6 responses to “Happiness from Within

  1. I have sometimes found that clicking the little star above to indicate Like seems a very poor substitute for the deeply profound impact a post has had on me. Thank you dear one for the many lessons I have learnt while stopping by here. Many hugs, Sharon

    • Life Student

      Isn’t the internet amazing? I am thrilled that I have found other people who are following a similar path. Thank you for coming by.

  2. Would you subscribe to the view that happiness and joy are two different states of being?

    • Life Student

      Absolutely! Without much thought I will say that happiness is sustainable. Joy, although more intense for me, is noteworthy when it comes along.

  3. Thank you for the lesson. I know someone from Sudan who also said the same thing. He’s not famous like Deepak Chopra, but he’s a living example of what this post is all about.

    Namaste,

    Subhan Zein

    • Life Student

      Our teachers can come from many places and in many guises. The famous ones catch our attention and others gently enter our lives.

Leave a Reply

