Stillness

Be still, and know that I am God.  Psalm 46:10

The fool thinks peace comes 
by controlling the mind.
 He will never attain it.
 The wise one knows Truth, 
and is stillness itself.Buddhist Sage Astavakra

…Who can wait quietly while the mud settles?  Who can remain still until the moment of action?  Observers of the Tao do not seek fullfilment. Not seeking fulfillment, they are not swayed by desire for change.   Lao-Tzu  Tao te Ching, Verse 15

Good things come to those who wait.  English Proverb

Control is a habit with me.  Letting go of outcome is a struggle.   That makes me smile as I say it, as a struggle is in itself and attempt to control, is it not?

Yet I reach for stillness.  It enhances my life.  It creates a touchstone for my day that I can reach for in moments of gerbil thoughts that run incessantly toward no resolution.

I will keep seeking stillness because I believe that it is the way toward peace in my own mind.

Life Student

2 Comments

Filed under Buddhism, Change Your Thoughts, Change your Mind, Tao Te Ching, The Bible

2 responses to “Stillness

  1. Sitting silently, doing nothing, spring comes and the grass grows by itself.

    ~Zen

    Ashtavakra was a Hindu Sage. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ashtavakra. The quote is an interpretation of an aphorism in the Ashtavakra Geetha.

Leave a Reply

